Another one bites the dust

Today my best friend of 20 years is getting married. Please excuse me while I freak out:

AAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHIMSOEXCITEDICANTBELIEVEITSHERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ahem. Thank you.

I can’t even begin to tell you how incredibly excited I am for my Claire Bear.

(Claire and I circa…2005? I think?)

Claire and I have been through a lot in the 20 years we’ve been friends. There have been incredible highs right along with heartbreaking lows. And somehow we’ve survived. This girl is nothing short of a sister to me.

(Claire’s mom, Claire, Mama P, me in 2006.)

The forecast for today is absolutely perfect for a wedding: high of 70, sunny, zero chance of rain…doesn’t get much better than that. Claire put so much work into this day and I can’t wait to see everything come together. But more importantly, I’m excited for Claire to finally cross over to the “other” side. Although I’m only 10 months in, I think I can safely say marriage is pretty awesome. It’s not always perfect – far from it – but it’s so worth it.

Congrats, you two!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Another one bites the dust

  1. Mrs. JYW says:

    yayyy, congrats to a beautiful bride, an amazing wedding, and the best time between best friends and loved ones this wknd!

  2. Steph says:

    Hooray! A big, huge congrats out to Claire!!!

  3. andrea s says:

    yah! best friend weddings are the BEST! have fun! I have also been BFFs with my friend for 20+ years- a TOTAL sister to me as well 🙂

  4. Jessica says:

    Claire is lucky to have you as a best friend and you’re lucky to have her. She’s going to be a beautiful bride. Send her all the best from us today!!! I’m so happy for her, best wishes and congratulations to her on her wedding day!! 😀

  5. Aww, really sweet. 🙂 (20 years of best friendship is amazing!) Congrats to her! I hope you guys have an amazing time at the wedding!!

  6. Laura says:

    Aww, you two are such cute best friends! Saw your profile picture on facebook, and you BOTH looked absolutely gorgeous! 🙂

  7. crying. again. OMG. How did I miss this??? THANK YOU thank you thank you for absolutely EVERYTHING you did for me and for the wedding and for Elliot and I. I seriously do not know who I would be without you. And I don’t want to know who that would be. You are such an amazing person and friend and I literally could not imagine my life without you. No matter what I’m going through (at any given moment) you are there for me, with a bottle of wine or a bat (if someone needs the beat down) and are ALWAYS helping me gain perspective on things. This road has not been easy, but I wouldn’t trade any of it in a heart beat. Not one thing. Who knew, that crazy day before kindergarten, when we met walking to school with our moms, that we’d be here today still best friends? I’m just, so thankful, for you, for our friendship and for all of our amazing memories. This proves to me that not even 500 miles+ of distance and different life paths/colleges/careers can break a bond that we have. Our friendship is stronger now than it’s even been and I’m SO excited to see where life takes us.

    I LOVE YOU. And I’m blessed, everyday, to call you my bff. OKAY sobbing.

Leave a Reply

