The Results of #OperationLayla

It’s safe to say #OperationLayla was a smashing success. What started out as a simple idea by a few girls who desperately wanted to help a friend, turned into nothing short of a movement. The original goal of $4,000 was met within 48 hours. Let me say that one more time: we raised FOUR THOUSAND DOLLARS in TWO DAYS. Mind-blowing. As of right now (8:30pm on March 21, 2011) the total amount of dollars raised is $7,461, meaning we surpassed our goal by $3.461. I mean…it’s just crazy. I figured we could raise maybe $1000 and help Layla pay for at least a bit of her surgery. The fact that we FAR surpassed our goal is just amazing. This whole thing has been such an inspiration and I truly feel blessed to have been able to help.

To anyone who’s ever said social media/Twitter/blogging is stupid or pointless or weird, this is my big “F you” to them. It isn’t any of those things. It’s full of real people forming real friendships and making real things happen. The power of social media is real and I’m proud to be a small part of it.

Layla’s surgery is tomorrow morning, so please join me in wishing Layla a successful operation and a speedy recovery. Get well soon, dear! We’re all rooting for you. 🙂

This entry was posted in OperationLayla. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Results of #OperationLayla

  1. Jessica T says:

    Praying and thinking and sending lots of good juju to Layla tomorrow!!! ❤

  2. Steph says:

    Lots of love for Layla tomorrow! I’m still in awe that we raised over $7000.. just through Twitter, blogging, and other social media. Amazing!

  3. jacin says:

    dear Em- i wish i was as videogenic as you 🙂

    • Emily says:

      Oh gosh you are so sweet! I thought you looked adorable in your video. 🙂

      What you didn’t see are the 11 (ELEVEN) takes I did to get it right, or the script I had to write for myself because I was tripping over my words. Far from perfect lol.

  4. Jenell says:

    How awesome for everyone to be a part of this, awesome job on the vid. It’s great to feel so connected to people you’ve never met in person. God Bless!

  5. Mrs. JYW says:

    I apologize for every blog that has our video clip up that my scrubby face is frozen on their entry. 😛 YAY for operation layla 🙂 Can’t wait for your wedding wknd photos, lady!

  6. Layla says:

    I just saw this, because I just came out of my percocet haze and rejoined the world! I love you!

Leave a Reply

