Christmas Decorating With Mama P

Merry Christmas! A day late.

Hope everyone had a holiday filled with love, laughter and wine (or your drink of choice). I trust you all were very good girls this year and Santa rewarded you accordingly. My family/friends were way too generous, not that I’m complaining 😉 I’ll share a few of my favorite gifts this week.

But for now, I want to show off my childhood home and the awesomeness that is my mother. We’ve already covered that she was totally hot in the 70s. For this post I will simply show you how totally “Martha” she is in the new millennium.

My friends joke that every time they come over to my house it looks different. New paint on the walls, furniture rearranged, or a wall completely knocked out. My mom is a serial redecorator. It would be a problem, but she’s just so damn GOOD at it that instead of rolling my eyes, I marvel at her talent. Sadly, I did not get that gene and I’m quite pissed. I know what I like and what looks good in other people’s homes, but in mine? I have no idea.

For this installment of “My Mom is Awesome at Decorating and I’m Totally Not” I want to showcase her Christmas decorations. After Thanksgiving she said, “Yeah, I don’t really want to decorate this year. I guess I will, though. Just a few things here and there.” When I arrived at my childhood home on Christmas Eve Eve, this is what I saw.

Mantle/fireplace in our living room.

I call this my mom's "White Santa Claus" collection.

 

The tree! It’s pre-lit and my mom just wraps it up in a sheet and keeps the ornaments on til the following year!
Getting a little creative with the camera. Is this called bokeh?
Next to the living room is the sun room. Just a few Christmas-y touches in here.
Pretty angels.
This is a beautiful built-in hutch thing in the dining room. No idea what it’s called, but it holds china and glassware and…stuff.
Nutcrackers are my favorite!
These reindeer are a million years old. Ok, probably more like 60 years old. I love them.
The buffet all decked out.
Part of her “Red Santa Claus” collection.
Mrs. and Mr. Claus

 

That photo is my mom and her brother on Christmas 50-some years ago.

Nope, not done yet!

 

This is the bay window in our kitchen. Snowman Village!

Even the bathroom has some poinsettia garland!

See why I’m jealous? If my (future, hypothetical) house is even a quarter as cute as hers, I’ll be a happy gal.

Even though the Christmas decorating season is coming to an end, maybe this will give you some inspiration for next year! Did you deck your halls?

Ps, this post is dedicated to not only my mom, but also Laura from The Luckiest in Love. She has the cutest house and I tell her all the time that I want her to decorate my apartment!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Christmas Decorating With Mama P

  1. kjpugs says:

    AMEN to agreeing about Laura. AND I am in love with your cute adorable Mom and her decorating skills. I would like to live at her house, k thanks.

  2. Laura says:

    Uhh, AMAZING! I love every single thing about her house – That built in hutch is so stinkin cute! And thank you to you and Kelly! You two are seriously too sweet to me. Love you both!

  3. Steph says:

    That’s awesome. I love how that’s “not much” to her 😉 I totally aspire to have a bajillion decorations for my (future, hypothetical) house as well. Take that, Christmas spirit!

  4. Jessica says:

    I’m jealous of the built in hutch. I love it. I love it all actually, she did an awesome job. Is she for hire?

  5. Hannah says:

    I was just about to head out the door to scope out some 50% off Christmas decorations and this just made me feel like I’ll never be good enough! How does one become as awesome as she is? Can she give blog lessons? Get a few Vlogs for us, k? Thanks.

  6. Katie says:

    Oh wow – I loveee the Christmas decor! So so so cute.

  7. Christina says:

    Love the decor! I can only hope to have that much Christmas stuff to decorate with someday… I love how Christmas decorations make our house seem so cozy.

  8. Pingback: Pinterest + Christmas = SO MUCH FUN | A Leap Begins

Leave a Reply

