Reverb 10: Community

Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011? (Cali Harris)

2010 was the year of the blog and the Twitter account for me. Blogging over at Burning River Bride and tweeting my daily musings as well as my freak-outs brought me close to so many amazing women (and a few men, I suppose). It would not be an exaggeration to say that I don’t know how I would have survived my wedding without that blog. The conversations I had with girls going through the exact same thing at the exact same time were literal life savers. I had a particularly rough meltdown and I knew I could go to these practical strangers for advice, sympathy, and empathy. When I wrote this post on my wedding day I cried and I just cried again re-reading it. Damn it, you guys make me all mushy! As I continue to build my online community through this (relatively) new blog I hope to develop even more new friendships and strengthen the ones I already have.

Next year, along with continuing to write for this little blog, I really have to focus on building my “real life” community here in DC. As much as I’d love for you all to move here so we can go out on weekends, that’s just not possible. Having a social life is incredibly important to both Josh and me. We definitely have a nice group of people we can call friends in DC, but they already have established friend groups and being “newcomers” can be kind of scary. Making friends as an adult is hard, y’all! If you have any tips, I’d love to hear them!

This entry was posted in reverb10. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reverb 10: Community

  1. Jessica says:

    Well said! I feel the same way, my new blog has made me connect with so many new people, including you. It’s wonderful and I can’t imagine my life without my twitter buds and blogging friends, but sometimes, I have to remind myself to get back to my “real” life and humanoid friends. 😉

    I just went back and read your wedding day post, it was beautiful! You were married a mere 20 days after me. Yay for us May brides!

  2. Trust me, I know. Making friends is SO hard when you are out of college and highschool!! I’m so lucky to have met such amazing people at work. Another great way to meet friends, if you don’t have many people your age/who you mesh with at work is to get involved around town! Josh is already doing a great thing by joining the kickball league! I was thinking of joining cooking classes if you’d like to join! I was exactly where you are, so I know what it’s like.

    And, I’m always here for you and we aren’t going anywhere for a while 🙂 So you know you have 2 people that will always be down to hanging out!

  3. Katie says:

    Hooray for blog buddies! Seriously. It honestly depresses me that I live so far from most of y’all because I know we’d be great friends and hang out constantly if we were in close proximity. You guys want to move to FL, right???? We have the beach… 😉

Leave a Reply

