Reverb 10: Let Go

Before I begin I just want to say that I’m not going to beat myself up for missing the last 2 days of Reverb 10. I have a job and a life outside of blogging and sometimes those two things take precedence over daily posting.  Plus, I like to sleep and that *definitely* trumps blogging. I took on this challenge to jump-start my blogging and I plan to answer as many posts as my free time allows, but I’m not going to make myself crazy trying to fit it in.

Now, on to todays prompt!

“What (or whom) did you let go of this year? Why?” (Alice Bradley)

These prompts are all so serious. Why does reflection have to be like that? I hope at some point there’s a prompt asking us to describe our most embarrassing moment this year and what we learned from it or…I don’t know. SOMETHING that will let me write a few paragraphs that make one or two people smile.

Anyway. This year I let go of a shit-ton of clothes. And yes, “shit-ton” is a technical term. I’m in the middle of a complete wardrobe overhaul and it feels soooo good. So many clothes that either didn’t fit, were out of style, were never IN style, or that I hadn’t worn in over a year just sat in my closet, taking up space and taunting me.

Maybe this seems silly to some people, but I’m pretty vain and my appearance means a lot to me. I wear a full face of make up every day, my hair is a huge part of who I am, I try to stay at a certain weight and I constantly strive to stay attractive for my husband. Rarely, if ever, will you find me out in public wearing sweats. Dressing well makes me feel good about myself and when I’m confident in what I’m wearing, I’m confident in what I’m doing.

Ena, my super awesome designer bff, made this! She works for Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen in NYC. Definitely kind of a big deal. Also, this is me 2 years and about 10-12 pounds ago 😦

When I looked in my closet early this year I didn’t see myself at all and I freaked out. Like, sobbing snotty mess freaked out. Thus began the purge. Purges occurred a few times this year and each time felt better than the last. Now it’s time to rebuild with quality pieces that I absolutely love. My motto: no more crap!

This entry was posted in reverb10. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Reverb 10: Let Go

  1. Maria says:

    Go ‘head with your bad self! And blogging should never be a burden so who cares about not posting everyday! Quality over quantity I say!

  2. Hannah says:

    10 pounds later I think your body is way hotter. You now have really great curves and look awesome. And I’m glad you decided to write this one – I don’t think you need to write every prompt, you should never force yourself!

    Getting rid of crap is awesome. It feels even better when you donate it! YAY starting anew.

  3. Steph says:

    You are one sassy and sexy woman, right now AND a year ago. And your fashion sense? Amazing. If I say so myself. And I do.

    Also, I totally agree with the seriousness of the prompts.. I like writing more serious stuff but it’s kind of cramping my style. I’m becoming one of those crazy multiple posters now 😉

  4. andrea s says:

    i reeeeealllly need to do this as well!

  5. Nellie says:

    Dude, I can so relate! I pretty much dislike a lot about my closet right now. I’ve had to give myself permission to change it up. In the right outfit, I feel so much more confident and powerful. The right outfit matters when you have to present yourself daily. And luckkkyyyy, I want a designer bff too!

  6. I purged a lot of my closet when I got married and moved in with J and I need to do it again. All the clothes I’m holding onto, but not wearing is weighting me down… and will not be fun to move in a year or so.

  7. Anni says:

    I love that! I have the same philosophy, which is why I have all of one winter dress. But it’s Isabel Marant, and it’s gorgeous!

  8. “no more crap” a motto everyone should live by! especially… “don’t spend any more money on crap!”

    I just did a closet purge and a “wear everything in the closet until you find the things that you’ll never wear” month. And another trip to Salvation Army is here…

Leave a Reply

