Reverb 10: Writing

 

What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it?
(Author: Leo Babauta)

In most aspects of my life I’m a fairly confident person. I’m confident in the way I look, in my personality, in my relationship, etc. One aspect where I’ve always doubted myself is my writing abilities. I love to write and I do think I’m pretty good, but for the longest time I was TERRIFIED for anyone (anyone) to read anything (an.y.thing) I wrote. The fact that I have a blog where I willingly allow others (STRANGERS) to read my musings is really kind of crazy.

Every day I think about what I could blog about and come up with lots of different ideas. But every day something stops me. It’s this little voice telling me, “No one cares. Why would some one care about that?” So usually, I stay silent. I figure no one really cares about the random stuff I’m thinking about. With my wedding blog I have a focus: the months/weeks/days leading up to my wedding, my relationship with Josh, recapping my wedding, the details, etc. Everyone who read it was also in “wedding blog world,” as I like to call it, so I knew my audience was interested and invested. With this blog? I love my readers and know they (you) love me, but I still always feel like the random stuff that goes on in my daily life is just not interesting enough to write about.

Truthfully, the self-doubt about my writing may never go away. Obviously I don’t doubt myself *too* much because if I did I clearly wouldn’t have a blog at all. I think it’s ok to have a bit of insecurity, though. Wouldn’t want to get too big for my britches! (Does anyone even say that anymore? Well, I just did.)

*Note: Hiiii to all of the Reverb 10 participants who moseyed on over to my lil corner of the internet yesterday. I’ll try to catch up on your posts this weekend 🙂 Hope you’re enjoying this exercise so far!

This entry was posted in reverb10. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Reverb 10: Writing

  1. Hannah says:

    me me me!
    (raises my hand in the corner)
    I love to read! Keep blogging girl, I love your posts 🙂

  2. Brad says:

    I’m far more comfortable thinking it’s complete strangers that read my blog than having to worry about people I actually know reading it….

  3. kristendomblogs says:

    This is one of the same things I wrote about today – fear of failure – what if my writing sucks? And even worse, what if it sucks but everyone is too afraid to tell me? But I assume if people are reading my blog and keep coming back, maybe I’m actually good at it. And then that motivates me to write more and try other types of writing, so maybe one day I’ll actually have confidence in my writing – so keep at it!

  4. Nellie says:

    I can definitely relate. I get so self conscious when I know someone else is reading my writing. I don’t have a lot of confidence in my writing, but I have confidence in my ideas. It’s so hard. I don’t think I’ll ever get over it. Remember though that this is what keeps us working on improving our craft. Great answer to the prompt. I totally copped out and wrote about something stupid.

  5. Maria says:

    Of course you make for a great read! Post these ideas you have! I’d love to see them!

  6. Jessica says:

    Girl, I feel the same way every time I write a blog post. The way I see it, my blog is a personal blog and I write it for myself…if someone doesn’t like it, they don’t have to read it, right? Haha.

    I love your blog and you should totally write what’s on your mind, I’m with Maria on that one! 🙂

  7. Dancy says:

    The random stuff is usually the best stuff to talk about!! Of course no one cares – that’s the awesome point!! I mean, why would I think anyone would ever care about my wedding other than me?? LOL But we all do care about each other’s weddings, and other junk that happens everyday. My favorite posts are the random ones – where KJ talks about the leaks & creaks in her house, or Hannah posts a recipe, or Jacin comes up with some cute purse & posts about it to show us – just cuz. Keep on keepin’ on girl… we’ll read it all. 😉

  8. kjpugs says:

    LOL! I don’t have that “no one cares!” filter. Annnndddd sometimes I wish I did.

  9. mkmd says:

    No offense to bride bloggers but I will take these posts over wedding posts ANY/EVERY DAY!! Your writing is great, but I think every blogger has a sense of self-doubt. I always look forward to your posts so keep them coming! 🙂

  10. Katie says:

    I totally know how you feel.

    Yesterday, on my way to work, a seagull dropped a PANCAKE on my car. I was shocked…and tried to keep it balanced on the hood of my car so that I could take a photo of it when I arrived in my office’s parking lot. Because…I wanted to share it with all of you people. What…the…crap. Seriously? I am constantly having moments where I go “Aha! I’ll blog about this!” But, I don’t. Because I convince myself that it might be something that “you had to be there” for.

    Although, now I’m thinking that the pancake story might have been interesting…

Leave a Reply

