Reverb 10: One Word

It’s Day 1 of Reverb 10. Who’s excited?? I AM!

Today’s prompt is to choose one word that describes 2010 and also look ahead to 2011 and choose one word I would like to describe that year.

For 2010, my word is unexpected. This year began with Josh and I stuck in a rut. He was in a job he didn’t love at a company he *really* didn’t love. I was unemployed with no promising job leads and a general feeling of unhappiness. Then in late February all of that changed. Josh started applying for jobs in the DC area. He got one a mere 2 weeks after beginning to apply for jobs and accepted the offer. We packed up our apartment, Josh moved to Bethesda, MD while I stayed back in Ohio to finish up planning our wedding, and we were back to doing the long distance thing. In May we finally got married (after a 22 month engagement) and in June I moved to Maryland to be with Josh. A new city, new friends, a new job (and then quitting said job after a month), another too-long bout of unemployment, first-year-of-marriage struggles, and *finally* finding a job made this year unexpected to say the least. 2010 has positively flown by and nearly gave me whiplash on the way out.

For 2011, I would love nothing more than for my word to be stable. I would truly love to have a fairly normal and boring year. Sure I want to have fun, take a beach vacation, develop friendships with some of the fantastic people I’ve met in DC, flourish in my new career, etc. But since pretty much the beginning of our relationship, Josh and I have been GO GO GO. I’d love to slow down and just enjoy our time together.

What are your words for 2010 and 2011?

This entry was posted in reverb10. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Reverb 10: One Word

  1. Steph says:

    Love this already. My word for 2010 is discovery, and for 2011 it’s confidence. Check it:
    http://forgetme-not.blogspot.com/2010/12/reverb10.html
    🙂

  2. Wow, 2010 was intense for you! That is a lot to read about for one year, let alone to experience.

    For some people stable= boring but I’ve never found it to be that way. I like stability, it lets you have a a solid base to build from.

    I hope you have a lovely, stable 2011 and that 2010 becomes that year you look back at and laugh about how crazy it was.

  3. Mandi says:

    Wow, definitely sounds like you’re very deserving of some stability in 2011. I think my word for 2010 is going to be “rewarding”, but I’m still working on 2011’s word. 😉

  4. Megan says:

    ❤ I couldn't be happier to have you guys in MD!

  5. Wow, this was an AMAZING post! I’ll play 🙂 Here’s hoping 2011 (holy crap!) is filled with love, laughter, and life!

  6. Wow you have had quite a unexpected year! But, it sounds like everything turned out well 🙂 Here’s to more stability in 2011!

  7. Nellie says:

    Aww… what a whirlwind… I want a stable 2011 too. Let’s make it happen!

  8. Jessica says:

    You’ve done a lot in the past year! Busy lady!
    By the sounds of it, your new job fits you to a tee and since you enjoy it, it will just get better. 🙂

  9. Jen says:

    I love your words! I’m so glad things are working out.

  10. Katie says:

    I feel like we had somewhat similar years, my dear! I like your 2011 word: stable. I totally know where you’re coming from in that department! Establishing balance, a routine, etc. is a great thing! I hope for it myself!

  11. Jen says:

    P.S. Stable sounds really good right now.

  12. Laura says:

    Stable is such a good word – I can totally relate to your relationship constantly being go, go, go! It would be SO nice to just relax and be married for awhile!

Leave a Reply

