Is this thing on?

Soooo hi. Been a minute, huh? Thank God I didn’t do NaBloPoMo, right? Right…

Turns out having a job and a personal life AND being a blogger is a lot harder than I thought. Seriously, how do you guys do it? And those of you with kids?? Forget about it. I bow down to you. It’s all about prioritizing and making time; I know that. But I get home from work, cook dinner and then seriously all I want to do is sit on the couch and veg. Any tips on how not to suck at blogging are much appreciated. Ps, I can’t blog at work so that’s not an option.

Speaking of work….I got a job! A real, big girl J.O.B.! With business cards and everything! Not a temp job (not that there’s anything wrong with them) or a job that has nothing to do with my degree. Nope, I have an honest-to-goodness job doing pretty much exactly what I want to do. Is it my dream job? No. My dream job is a hip-hop back-up dancer. But this will do for now ๐Ÿ˜‰

This new job is with a catering company here in Maryland. The catering company will remain nameless, but if you or anyone you know is getting married or planning any kind of event, please let me know and I’d love to help! (Gotta get a plug in there somehow!) So far I’m really enjoying it. The first few days were incredibly overwhelming (SO much to learn) but I’m finally getting the hang of it. We mostly do weddings and I’m loving working with brides and grooms to create an amazing day for them. I really never, ever expected or wanted to work in the wedding industry, but now that I’m doing it, I truly love it.

I hope you forgive my unplanned blogging absence. Figuring out a good rhythm will probably take another few weeks, but I hope to be back on the wagon for good!

How do you juggle work/school, life, and blogging? I definitely need help.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Is this thing on?

  1. Anni says:

    First of all, CONGRATS! on the job. That’s amazing and definitely merits a blogging absence. ๐Ÿ™‚ It sounds like a fun job, too.

    I’ll be honest, what keeps me blogging is allowing myself some “cop out” type posts – a few lines about something I saw that I like. Those, and comments from readers, keep me going.

  2. Christina says:

    Congrats on the job, lady!! I was a failblogger for awhile… and I’ve still been posting infrequently. I agree, it’s difficult to work, go to school and go places on the weekends… and then find time/energy to blog. Glad you’re back though ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hannah says:

    Blogging and cooking are my outlets for creativity. I love to cook so that one is easy and I usually blog when I need to have a little me time. With working 40+ hours and doing a graduate program it is really important to get t his little time just for me.

    Oh, and I multitask like a pro and type super fast so that helps too ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Maggie says:

    Yeah, unemployment definitely helps with the blogging (though right now I so wish I was in your shoes with a job to go to!). Seriously though, I found that when I was working and trying to keep up with the blogging, weekend mornings were when I would do most of my posts and then I’d schedule them throughout the week. Because I’m totally like you and when I get home all I want to do is veg. Congratulations again on the job – and getting one in your field, no less!

  5. Laura says:

    It definitely takes awhile to get used to! After I spend some time on the couch after work I take some time to read blogs and post while David studies/works/watches TV. We’re together, but doing our own thing too.

    So glad you’re loving your job!! Yay!

  6. Jenell says:

    I’m sure you’re just fabulous at your job! Glad to hear. Same thing has been on my mind. I’ll have to check back here for help!

  7. Steph says:

    So glad that you are loving the job so much!! It seems to really suit you.

    As for blogging.. I think the only reason I can do it is because I have a lot of downtime at work. Once I switch jobs and get in the throes of wedding planning next year, I’m not really sure how I’m going to keep up with everything. I don’t judge absent bloggers because I already go through a few days where I just don’t have time to do anything. It’s hard!!

  8. Shannon says:

    Congrats on the new job it sounds awesome!! I blog a lot from work if I have some downtime or at night while the boy is off doing something else. My blogs aren’t overly involved or complicated so it doesn’t take too long. Now keeping up with reading others is a challenge!

  9. andrea s says:

    congrats!! i was wondering where you have been!!?? really… i really really was!

    also, a tip from me on how to blog while being busy. at this time last year i had 2 jobs {a full time and a part time} i went to grad school, had an internship AND was planning my wedding… i still blogged {it was hard but how i did it was this….}

    i found ONE day where i HAD TO BLOG… which is where Tuesday Ten{ies} came about… every Tuesday I provide a list of 10 things. It’s usually pretty random, but it kept me going back to my blog at least once a week.

    congrats again on the job, i will look forward to your come-back ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. Amy says:

    Wow, so exciting! I miss you but I am SO PUMPED for your new job! Congrats, girlfriend! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Jessica says:

    I’m so glad that you are loving your new job, even if it means we couldn’t go shopping. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Rain check for SURE. I wish I were getting married again so I could have you do my catering but alas, my day has already passed.

    When I’m busy at work, I can always tell when my blogging starts to take a backseat. I can never think of anything to write about and I never have the time to read. I feel ya sister! You’ll get into a routine soon.

  12. Megg says:

    Congrats on the job!
    I’ve been paired with you for the holiday pet swap! I emailed you but hadn’t heard and I’m eager to shop for your kitties!!

  13. Morgan says:

    Congrats on the job! That is so exciting!

  14. Heather says:

    Congrats on the job! Sounds awesome! And nice to have you back. ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Dancy says:

    Wurrrk Girl! Good for you. Getting out of bed is so much easier when you love what you do. Congrats!

  16. kjpugs says:

    SO happy for you about the new job! And yes… working, having a life, and blogging can be tough. TWO jobs have been tough for me. I can’t blog at work which absolutely kills me!!! But it’s probably good- less chance to get in trouble.

    Basically I’m just happy you’re happy and you’re back! Having a new job is really tough- the learning curve is crazy!- but it’s great that you’re doing something you love!

    Although if any backup dancer positions I know of open up CLEARLY I’ll call you ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

