I’ve Made It

Before I begin, I want to thank all of my readers (like, all 20 of you) for taking the time to read the silly words I type. Blogging gives me something to do and enables me to share a little slice of my life with random people on the Internet. There are a billion other things you could be doing and a billion other (and better) bloggers who you could be reading, but you choose me (among other, I’m sure.) For that, I thank you. I even want to thank the hater that left me this awesome comment over the weekend on my “Tagged” post:

Jay says: October 23, 2010 at 4:22 am (Edit)

I enjoy reading your blogs (wedding and this one), but I wish you would get over yourself a bit. I am really tired of reading about how much you hate Ohio and Lakewood. Honestly, you are now living in a city that is 10x more expensive and you still don’t have a job. I live in NE Ohio and find plenty of interesting places and friends to spend my time with. I think if the NE Ohio bashing continues I am just going to stop reading. You got out of your misery so shut up about it already!

First and foremost, thank you, Jay, for at least putting a name to your comment. That takes balls and even though I have a feeling your “jay@yahoo.com” email address *might* not be real, at least you didn’t take the easy “anonymous” route. Also, thank you for reading and taking the time to comment. Finally, because it amuses me greatly, I’m going to assume (since you made so many assumptions about me) that you are one of these two:

Mr. and Miss Jay

Now, I would like to address some of the concerns that Jay brought up.

“…I wish you would get over yourself a bit.” — This, dear Jay, will never happen. I have a lot of confidence in myself and think I’m a pretty cool gal. That will never change 🙂

“I am really tired of reading about how much you hate Ohio and Lakewood.” — Contrary to what you assume, I do not hate (or even dislike) Ohio or Lakewood (the suburb of Cleveland where I grew up.) In fact, I’m fairly certain that I’ve never written that I “hate” where I’m from. If you can find some examples of this (meaning times when I’ve specifically said “I hate Ohio, I hate Lakewood, I hate Cleveland”) I’d love to see them. Simply put, Ohio didn’t have much to offer me anymore and I wanted to explore what else is out there. I have my issues with where I’m from, but I certainly do not “hate” it. One thing to point out, I’m very sarcastic. So for example, when I wrote in this post about Michael Symon being “one of the few awesome things to come out of Cleveland” it comes from a place of love and self-deprecation. Although, I DO hate lake effect snow and I will not miss that 🙂

It should not snow at any point during baseball season. But it has in Cleveland!

“Honestly, you are now living in a city that is 10x more expensive and you still don’t have a job.” — Very true! DC is hella expensive. My rent is about $1000 more than what I was paying when I lived in Ohio. Luckily, my husband is making about $30,000 more here than when he worked in Ohio, so it all works out. Also true? My state of unemployment. However, you don’t know the state of my personal finances, how much I’m worth, the number on my stock portfolio, etc. So while I desperately want (and need) a job, do not judge what you do not know.

“I live in NE Ohio and find plenty of interesting places and friends to spend my time with.” — That’s great! I’m glad you’re enjoying yourself. Lakewood is actually a *really* fun city. There are tons of bars and it’s a great scene for people 21+. Downtown Cleveland also has a decent nightlife and I’ve spent many a night shakin’ it on W. 6th. Evidence:

I also have a few friends who are still in Cleveland and I miss them terribly. However, Josh and I had to do what is best for our family, so we left.

“I think if the NE Ohio bashing continues I am just going to stop reading.” — Again, I don’t think I’ve ever “bashed” NEO, just given my personal (since this is my *personal* blog) opinions. Losing a reader always sucks, but I understand if you just can’t stand my awesomeness anymore. Sometimes it overwhelms me, too.

“You got out of your misery so shut up about it already!” — Again, since this is my personal blog and I’m not holding a gun to your head forcing you to read it, I’ll write whatever I damn well please. In turn, if you don’t like it you can click the little X at the top of your screen and forget I exist.

Jay, little do you know, I was positively ELATED when you left me that comment. The fact that some one took the time to leave me a comment like that made me feel as if I’d “made it” so to speak. So thanks for making me smile 🙂

I know I should just ignore people like Jay because attention is what they want, but this one was just too good. Plus s/he (I’m not sure if it’s a boy or a girl) brought up some good points that I’ve wanted to address anyway. So thanks for giving me material!

As I said, I definitely do have issues with where I’m from, but I truly think that a LOT of people have some negative feelings about where they grew up just like a LOT of people have deep hometown pride. And you know what? Both of those scenarios are ok.

This entry was posted in Don't Piss Me Off, Life, Ohio. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to I’ve Made It

  1. Hannah says:

    Losing a reader always sucks, but I understand if you just can’t stand my awesomeness anymore. Sometimes it overwhelms me, too.

    And that, lady, is why I absolutely LOVE YOU! Thank you for making my Monday Morning 🙂

  2. HATERS!! You can’t please everyone, all you can do is be yourself. And if people don’t like that? They can stop reading/following you. Although that sucks, you can’t be expected to tailor the words you put on YOUR OWN blog to appease other people. Blogging is your personal journal, and you are entitled to what you want to say.

    And I know you don’t hate Lakewood. It may not always be your favorite place, but it’s where your from, where you grow up, where you met me, obv 🙂 Like you said, you are just ready for bigger, better things.

    I’m so proud of you, my little dumpling 🙂

  3. Megan says:

    Seriously, you rock! I just spit coffee all over my keyboard regarding that statement. “Losing a reader always sucks, but I understand if you just can’t stand my awesomeness anymore. Sometimes it overwhelms me, too.” I love it!

  4. Steph C. says:

    Heh, this is a fantastic response post. You ARE awesome (and I loved hanging out with you on Friday, btw!) and yea, this is your personal blog, so you will write your personal opinions. Keep staying true!!

  5. Anni says:

    Best quote ever “Losing a reader always sucks, but I understand if you just can’t stand my awesomeness anymore. Sometimes it overwhelms me, too.”

    Great blog post to start Monday. 🙂 And yes, I do believe it means you’ve made it when people start bitching you out. Next you’ll start getting Tweets about your appearance/lifestyle choices, etc. Watch out!

  6. andrea s says:

    AWES. hehe this was TOTALLY MISS JAY!

  7. Jessica says:

    I was in bed, half asleep when I saw your tweets and I totally got up to read this post last night. All while Kevin slept like a baby.

    I was just THAT excited to see what you response was to MS JAY and you rock my world. He can drink his hater-ade and go stalk someone else. Love you, love your blog, love everything.

  8. I love this post! and have to agree that you are indeed pretty awesome 🙂

  9. Dancy says:

    No lie, I literally snorted my Crystal Light a little when I read, “if you don’t like it you can click the little X at the top of your screen and forget I exist.” Hah! Word sister!!!

  10. Amy says:

    I fucking love you. 🙂

  11. Laura L says:

    Didn’t Jay know you were left with millions of dollars from a death in the family from Nigeria?! Don’t judge the unemployed!

    Love you girl, and love our haters! ❤

  12. Layla says:

    Perfecto. 🙂

  13. Christina says:

    Good for you! I heart this post.

    Oh, and I’m from Pittsburgh. Therefore, you know how I feel about Cleveland. I think you’re awesome though. 😉

  14. A. Marigold says:

    I somehow missed your new blog, and I am so glad the situation has been remedied. 🙂

    That was a great point-by-point. I never got the impression you hated where you were from; it’s too bad Jay was so defensive about it.

  15. kjpugs says:

    OMG this is so perfect. I just died 20 deaths due to hilarity reasons.

    I think it was MR Jay. He’s so bitchy.

    And I hope Jay realizes you can love a place with all your heart, but have it not be the right place FOR YOU. Which is fine. I know you have said many wonderful things about OH and the midwest to me before! But if it’s not the place for you and your hubby at this point in your life, good for you for realizing that and not hanging onto a place because you “like it.” I’m glad you’re where you need to be and loving it!

  16. Gosh I hate when people leave super duper rude comments! I LOVED your response! hahaha The “Jays” was amazing 🙂 Plus I love how people think other people are too into themselves when they blog… I mean, duh… usually it is a blog about the PERSON AND THEIR LIFE?! Geeze people. haha LOVE YOU!

  17. Your awesomeness sometimes overwhelms me too.

  18. Melanie Fischer says:

    Hahahaha. Just found this post after a lovely happy hour (where I FINALLY GOT TO SEE YOU AGAIN, AHEM) and laughed out loud at the not-always-being-able-to-handle-my-own-awesome comment. Hahahahahahahaha! Damn right. Go on with your bad self!

Leave a Reply

