Tagged!

The lovely Katie from She Likes Ruffles, He Likes Truffles tagged me in this fun lil game going around the blog world. I love talking about myself, so I was happy to oblige

1. If you could only wear one color for the next 10 years, what would it be and why?

Oh this is tough! I love bright colors so it definitely wouldn’t be black/brown/gray/white or any other neutral. My favorite color is green. Loooove green. Plus it looks look with my kinda-red hair. My eyes are blue and when I wear blue they POP like crazy. People have asked me if my eyes are “real” before. No, they’re glass, asshole. Anyway, I’m going to say a nice blue/green, turquoise-y color would be the one I would wear for 10 years.

2. If you had to replace the Internet with another activity for 10 days, what would it be and why?

Oh dear. Well, I’d probably have to go shopping to get over my withdrawal. Then I’d bake and cook so I could eat my feelings of longing-ness. Finally I’d spend a lot of time at various vineyards sampling wine, leaving in a hazy fog, and falling asleep right when I got home. Clearly I need the Internet.

3. What is your favorite thing to do on a day off?

Ha, every day is a day off in my world right now (unemployed and all that.) But really, I do love to shop. I’m not one of those girls who looks at shopping as a “chore.” Oh no, I loooove it. My mom and I used to take trips to NYC or Chicago not to see the sights, but to go shopping. I’d like those days back, please!

4. What is the strangest food or food combination that you love to eat?

5. Who would you want to play you if a movie was made about your life?

I don’t think I look like many actresses. Some one once told me I look like Ashley Judd. I don’t see it. Another person told me I look like Victoria Beckham and after seeing these pictures, I’m a bit inclined to believe him:

(Source)

I mean, ok, she has brown eyes so we’d have to change that. And the whole accent thing. But she can rock the curly hair and has a turned up nose, just like me! We’re practically twins. Right?

6. Which TV show would you like to have a cameo in?

I would DIE to be a guest judge on Project Runway. I would go into the workroom (so I could hang out with Tim and piss off the designers) then judge the looks as they came down the runway. Wouldn’t that be SO FUN?

7. What is your absolute favorite dessert item…either homemade or at a restaurant?

I have 2 and I’m sorry Katie, but I don’t care what you say, I’m allowed to have 2 absolute favorite dessert items.

1. Brownies. I like them fudgey, not cakey. NO NUTS. (Although if that’s all there is I guess I’ll have one.)

2. Creme brulee. And don’t fancy it up with chocolate or fruit-infused custard, either. No. Regular custard is THE ONLY way to go when it comes to creme brulee. I once had pineapple creme brulee and it was effing disgusting.

8. Which accomplishment in your life are you most proud of and why?

Taking a leap of faith and moving to DC. It would have been really easy to live a nice, comfortable life in Ohio. But the downside would be boredom, more of the same, and ultimately unhappiness. So I did what I *always* said I would do: get the hell out of Lakewood.

Thanks for tagging me, Katie!

This entry was posted in about me. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Tagged!

  1. Jessica says:

    When the internet goes down and you become a huge wine-o, I’d like to come along, so please keep me in mind. I love food and wine so I’m totally game. OH, and I’ll even bring nutless brownies because I like them nut free as well. 🙂

    Project Runway is uh-mayzing. I really need to catch up on it though… I’ve missed the last few episodes.

  2. Jay says:

    I enjoy reading your blogs (wedding and this one), but I wish you would get over yourself a bit. I am really tired of reading about how much you hate Ohio and Lakewood. Honestly, you are now living in a city that is 10x more expensive and you still don’t have a job. I live in NE Ohio and find plenty of interesting places and friends to spend my time with. I think if the NE Ohio bashing continues I am just going to stop reading. You got out of your misery so shut up about it already!

    • Emily B says:

      Hi Jay! Be sure to check back in the next few days. I plan to address your concerns and explain myself a bit. Thanks for taking the time to read!

    • Anni says:

      Not everyone can be happy in the same environment… I’m from the suburbs (grew up outside of Cleveland and, later, Chicago) and it just wasn’t for me. Moving to Chicago was the best decision my fiance and I made; we’re both much happier now. Why does it bother you so much that people have different preferences than you? The job market is rough everywhere right now.

      • Jay says:

        Anni,

        I completely agree with you—different strokes for different folks. I do not have a problem with the fact that Emily left Ohio for DC. I am more annoyed by all of the NE Ohio bashing that she does in her posts. It just gets old after awhile. I have chosen to live in Cleveland and that’s what works for me. I don’t want to read a blog that constantly says negative things about a place where I live and enjoy.

  3. I feel as though my answers are verrrry similar to yours! Shocker. My days off almost always equal shopping trips…almost alwaysss. Even if I don’t buy anything, I like going anyway.

    And um, who actually likes cake-y brownies??? Is there a person out there that prefers them to the fudge kind?!?! I can’t fathom it. And I agree – NO NUTS!

  4. Hannah says:

    Brownies are best in their natural form – as batter. So, the fudgy kind is the best available if you don’t want to eat raw eggs. But I don’t have a problem with that.

    On another note, please CONTINUE to “bash” or share your opinion on where you used to live and where you live now. Part of the reason I love your blog SO MUCH is because you’re honest with us. I hope that Jay can just stop following because

    1) You do not need to “get over” anything, especially yourself when it comes to your own PERSONAL blog.

    2) Sorry, but I’ve been to Ohio and I can promise that DC is a better fit for YOU. Isn’t that why YOU made the decision to move there? Because YOU wanted to be in DC and not in Ohio? Jay – why don’t you just stay in Ohio.

    3) I like that the threat was “I think if the NE Ohio bashing continues I am just going to stop reading. You got out of your misery so shut up about it already!” – how about you be nice and say something like “Hey, some of us love NE – so please be nice” or just STOP FOLLOWING?

    Okay, sorry to rant but this annoys me! At least they left a name 🙂

  5. Layla says:

    Yup, I totally see Victoria Beckham – and that’s a good thing, my dear! I think you’re gorgEous!

    And, your blog, your rules, BABAY!

  6. Melissa says:

    Cool questionnaire. I enjoyed reading your answers. I too am a huge brownie fan.

  7. I’m proud of you for making a brave decision! Don’t you feel relieved? I was a MESS while A and I were talking about it but now that it’s over and done with, I feel much better about the whole thing!

  8. Heather says:

    You totally look like Victoria Beckham!

    And I love D.C. too. Lived there for a year after a leap of faith, too. I was a little sad to move back to the Seattle area, but found that is where I wantd to ‘settle down’.

    Love your blog!

  9. Megan says:

    You rock my socks.

Leave a Reply

