House Update!!

By this time next week we’ll be living in our new home. Our new home that we bought. As in, we have a mortgage. That shit’s for LIFE, yo.

When I last talked about the house, we had just put in an offer. Long story short, they countered and we accepted their counter offer. The inspection went relatively well and they agreed to fix certain things that were broken and/or credit us to fix them ourselves.

A wrench was thrown into the whole thing when a house across the street in the same price range popped up on the market. From the pictures it was gorgeous inside and technically we could still get out of our contract. Upon seeing the other house, I fell in love with the updated kitchen and bathrooms and the overall “doneness” of the house. Our house has a lot of work that needs to be done and I’m just so worried about all of the time and money and decision-making it involves. This house was already done for us! It was perfect! Except it wasn’t. The yard wasn’t ideal (it had a very steep slope and no fence) and the kitchen work was actually quite poorly done. After a mini nervous breakdown (and by “mini” I really mean I sobbed for a good 20-30 minutes) we decided to continue on with our house. It was really the best decision for us and I’m happy. :)

Signing wasn’t as painful as everyone told me it would be and we’ve slowly been moving things over for the last week. Our official big move is this Sunday!

I really want to post pictures of the house, but I think I’m going to wait until our stuff is in there. Just wait until you see some of the fun ‘lil things the previous owners left us. Let me just say this: the 70s lasted more than one decade in their house.

Ok maybe just one.

(This photo is from the original listing, which I’m not going to link.)

Please note the moose head above the fireplace. It isn’t there anymore (darn) but it will forever haunt our home. Also, I want to paint the brick but Josh says no. Humph.

And yes, that’s a birdcage.

This entry was posted in House Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to House Update!!

  1. Laura says:

    Ahhh, I’m so excited to see more pictures!! And as soon as I saw the brick I wondered if you’d paint it. I’m on your side! :)

  2. Clare says:

    So exciting!! You are going to have so much fun decorating and re-doing things. Congratulations! Also, I would totally paint that brick. Why do boys always ruin a good thing? :)

  3. Morgan says:

    Hooray for closing on your house! I can’t wait to see more photos, and it’s great that you at least had the opportunity to look at the house across the street. Now you’ll never have to wonder if it was better or not. And it sounds like you’ve got some projects to do in your new house, fun! :)

  4. Morgan says:

    Also, if your hubs isn’t into painting the brick, maybe you could do some built in shelving in front of the brick, so it would be covered, but still maintaining the original color?

  5. Amy says:

    So exciting! That room reminds me of Young House Love’s den in their old house. Brick in the exact same location as you guys–you should show their after pictures to Josh and maybe he would change his mind about painting it! :)

    Congratulations!

  6. Hannah says:

    LOVE. That is all I can say about this. LOVE LOVE LOVE!

  7. Jessica T says:

    If at any point you decide you need a deer head or bear bust to hang above your fireplace, you just give me a call. I’ll hook you up. ;)

    Also — YYAAYYYY!!! So excited for you and Josh. I’d help you move if I could life anything or had any energy at all.

  8. andrea s says:

    congrats! it’s such a big girl step and you will love it! we are slowly putting our own touch into our MORE than a decade of 70′s home as well ;) it’s fun! this winter is the bathroom- cant WAIT! thank goodness for pinterest!

    • Emily B says:

      Pinterest is my saving grace right now. I have no sense of style when it comes to interior decorating so there will be a ton of “Pin”-spiration in my house. Good luck with your reno!

  9. Brandi says:

    Congratulations!!! So glad you didn’t have the signing drama we had!

  10. Ashley says:

    Congratulations Em!! I am sooo excited and happy for you guys! Can’t wait to see the pictures!

    P.S. The moosehead literally had me laughing out loud….love it!

  11. Katie says:

    Yay! Congratulations! :) I can’t wait to see it when you have all of your things inside!

Leave a Reply

