A Very Pinterest Christmas: Food, Glorious Food!

I’m linking up with Amy of The Bookworm Wife to bring you festive holiday finds from everyone’s favorite obsession, Pinterest! 

If you’re anything like me you’ve procrastinated in pretty much every area of Christmas. Gift shopping, hall decking, meal (and outfit!) planning, cookie baking, card sending, etc. And if you’ve already finished all of this, well, I’m not sure we can be friends because clearly you’re just way too organized (I kid…kinda.) But now, with just over 2 weeks to go until the Big Day, it’s time to haul ass and get our shit together.

Today let’s talk about something very, very important to me: food. God help me, I freaking LOVE eating at Christmas. I love Thanksgiving, sure. But my mom always gets creative with food at Christmas and oh dear, it’s just really good. No boring turkey here (ok, turkey isn’t boring but we JUST HAD IT…no need for it again.) Plus, I feel like Christmas is all about baking and I’m not really a baker (although scroll down to the end for some amazing sweets) so I wanted to highlight the savory side of Christmas cooking.

Here are some recipes I found (via Pinterest, of course) that are sure to wow your family!

Starters

Stuffed Mushrooms. These things are a pain to make but so, so, so worth it.

 

Mini Caprese Salad on a Stick. I haven’t made these but I adore anything “mini.”

 

Deviled Eggs. But you’re only allowed to make these if you promise that you will never, ever, EVER put anything chunky in them. No pickle relish, no onions/shallots, no celery. Blech. If you do this, you are dead to me. However, you absolutely *should* top them w/ crushed red pepper instead of paprika. Just a tip from me to you. :)

 

Main Course

Roasted Lemon Garlic Shrimp. My mom makes a version of this but with butter instead of olive oil. I personally think butter is the way to go here, but I’m sure the olive oil is absolutely delicious as well. Serve with spaghetti! We typically eat seafood on Christmas Eve.

 

Rosemary-Rubbed Beef Tenderloin. It truly does not get any better than perfectly roasted medium rare beef tenderloin. Cooked properly you should be able to cut it with no more than a butter knife and it will melt in your mouth. Uuuggghhh so good. We usually serve beef on Christmas Day.

Source: saveur.com via Emily on Pinterest

 

Sides

Brussels Sprouts with Pancetta. I’ve made these before according to the recipe and they were really good, but my mom made them a bit differently and she said they were AMAZING. Basically the only difference is you roast the sprouts before you shred them. So roast, shred, add to pancetta, die of happiness.

 

Roasted Green Beans with Parmesan. Listen, I don’t like a lot of green foods. But properly cooked green beans? Are my JAM. They need to remain crisp and not mushy or bitter. This recipe is perfect as is. Make them now.

 

Roasted Potato Stacks. If you’re making the tenderloin, potatoes are a MUST. It’s like, a rule. These are perfect when you’re feeding a crowd. Everyone gets their own portion! Now I need a mandolin…Santa?

 

Dessert (I like the idea of offering lots of little things for dessert as opposed to a pie, cake or cheesecake. Although I’ll take any of those as well.)

Chocolate Pecan Pie Bars. I mean, these actually exist. And they’re legal (as far as I know.) I’m for SURE making these for Christmas. And New Year’s Eve. And my birthday (February 19th.) And President’s Day. And Martin Luther King Jr. Day. And…do I need to go on?

Source: jamhands.net via Emily on Pinterest

 

White Chocolate Peppermint. Apparently I need a candy thermometer to make fudge? Ok then, add that to my Christmas list.

 

Cinnamon Swirled Gingerbread Bars with Toffee Chips. Gingerbread is one of those quintessential tastes and smells of the holiday season. Combined with cinnamon swirly goodness and toffee chips? Die.

 

What are your favorite Christmas meals? Have you found any amazing recipes via Pinterest? Oh, and follow me on there. :)

This entry was posted in Christmas, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Very Pinterest Christmas: Food, Glorious Food!

  1. Hannah says:

    Dear Em. I want to eat ALL OF THIS. Please have it for Christmas and Tebow and I will fly up to enjoy it with you. Thanks very, Hannah

  2. What about putting bacon in deviled eggs? It’s chunky but yummmmm!

  3. “If you do this, you are dead to me.” Hilarious!

  4. Oh man, these all look so good! And your birthday is the same as my best friend’s which is also my wedding anniversary. It’s a good day :)

  5. Amy says:

    I love those mini-caprese salad sticks. I might have to bring those as my dish to pass on Christmas Eve! YUM. :)

  6. Jessica says:

    Why have I never thought of red pepper on deviled eggs? OMGYUM.
    I also agree with you on nothing chunky in them. Gag me.

  7. Clare says:

    I love stuffed mushrooms. I am drooling over everything in this post, especially those potato stacks and chocolate pecan bars!

Leave a Reply

