The exciting (and mildly terrifying) next steps

Hoookay.

Right. So the post I published yesterday about house hunting was actually written 10 days ago. Apparently, a LOT can happen in 10 days when you’re house hunting!

Last Sunday we had appointments to see 3 houses. The first and third were fine, livable, but nothing that made me go, “Oh! I like it!” The second one, however, did catch my eye.

(Taken from the listing, which I’m not going to link.)

From the pictures, I wasn’t crazy about the the outside but I thought the rest of the pictures showed an interesting house. When we drove up and I saw the house in person, I changed my tune quite a bit. It was pretty much the first house (out of probably 10 we’ve seen) that made me go “I don’t hate this! I actually think I really like it!” Josh was shocked and hopeful. But I knew the inside would be the real test.

I’m not ready to reveal those pictures yet, but I will say the inside is very nice. There are things I would like to change, but I think that’s inevitable with any house. The bones of the house are good, the lot itself is perfect for us, and it’s in a great location (only 5-10 minutes from some very close friends!!) Walking through the house I got a really good feeling and could start to see myself living there.

That was Sunday.

By Monday I’d sufficiently freaked myself out. Things were moving so fast, numbers were being thrown around, and it seemed as if decisions were being made without me. Not good. Not good at all. After thinking about it, I realized I’d seen the house with two boys (who are best friends) and what I really needed was to see the house with a girl. Luckily, our realtors, Mike and Rachel, are a husband and wife team. I emailed Rachel that night and made an appointment with her the following day to see the house again.

Cue big sigh of relief. Not only did I still like the house, but I also felt much (MUCH) better after talking about decorating and “girly things” with her.

Soooo after really thinking about it, talking it over with Josh, my mom, his parents, his sister, and my grandma and THEN talking about it with Josh even more (clearly my decision-making skills need a bit of work), we’ve decided to put in an offer!!

That’s all you get for now…updates to come!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The exciting (and mildly terrifying) next steps

  1. Sarah says:

    YAHOO!! Congrats on making the offer. The house looks beautiful…look at all those windows! Good call on going back with another woman…it’s nice to have someone with the same perspective as you to bounce ideas off of! Can’t wait to hear about how the offer goes! :)

  2. Jessica T says:

    So excited for you guys!!!

  3. Shannon says:

    That’s so exciting! I can’t wait to hear if you got it!

    Our house buying experience went super fast. My husband saw the house on a Wed. night, I went back with him to see it on Thurs. night. put in the offer on Friday (my realtor didn’t want anyone else to get the house so we moved quick) got a few counter offers on Saturday after much back and forth put in our FINAL offer on Monday and got the approval Monday night. So yeah, less than a week from start to finish. My head was spinning but it all worked out for the best because we do really love our house.

    Also, it’s nice to get a house where there is room to make some upgrades because it will add value to the house later on if you decide to sell it.

  4. andrea s says:

    SUPER exciting! waiting to hear on the offer might even be harder than finding a place! i remember when we looked for a house it took a few offers before we landed our perfect space. Good luck, the house looks great!

  5. Mrs. JYW says:

    YIPPPEEEEEE GOOOOOOD JUJU FOR YOUR OFFER! :) It’s a beautiful house!

  6. dancy says:

    Holy HUGE Batman!! I’m always shocked at how big houses outside the east coast are. Congrats!! Can’t wait to hear more. And YESSS the numbers & talking $$$ is terrifying but you gotta figure it’s only the one time (closing) – as long as you can afford the monthly payments on everything, you’ll be set. You can call a lot of utility companies & ask for a general ballpark on what a particular house uses per month (we did it for water, electric, gas & oil). Good luck! :)

  7. How exciting! My fingers are crossed for you two that this all goes as easily as a home buying experience can. (Mine has not and I’ll blog about at a later date when it’s less likely to jinx everything).
    I’m sending you good juju on your offer :)

  8. Hannah says:

    Dear Em – This is your reminder that I am needy and want to know EVERYTHING!

    LOVE YOU.

  9. Alyssa says:

    Congratulations!!! I think the house is stunning looking! I love that style… and what a yard! :)

  10. Amy says:

    EEEEEE so exciting! Can’t wait to hear more. :)

  11. Steph says:

    This is so exciting, Em!! The way we see it, if we can’t find a house when we need to move again, you guys will obvs have more than enough space in that McMansion and we’ll just crash with you. Oh, you mean I should ask about that first? ;)

  12. Clare says:

    SO exciting!! Can’t wait to see more updates about it. I know several people in the area who are buying houses recently so it gives me hope for my husband and I in the near future. Good luck with everything!

  13. Ashley says:

    Congrats!! This is such exciting news :) Just be patient with the whole process and realize that there are going to be bumps along the way that you might not have expected. Our house hunting process went a lot different than I envisioned, but in the end it was all worth it and we ended up with a place that we love and can call home together (and that’s the most important part!) :) Keep us posted on if the offer is accepted!!

    Miss you!
    <3
    Ashley

  14. Pingback: House Update!! | A Leap Begins

Leave a Reply

